The greatest harm caused to other animals is by our use of them as food. So, although veganism is much more than a diet, one of the most significant changes to your life when you go vegan will concern what you eat.
What is a vegan diet?
What foods do vegans avoid?
Let’s begin by looking at what vegans do not eat. They do not consume anything of animal origin. They do not eat animal flesh, including the flesh of fishes or chickens; they do not consume eggs (or foods that contain egg ingredients such as some confectionery, non-vegan mayonnaise, some biscuits, cakes and deserts; and many processed vegetarian foods). Vegans do not consume dairy products (i.e. milk and milk products such cheese, yogurt, ice cream, milk chocolate etc). This includes avoidance of dairy products made from the milk of sheep and goats. Vegans also avoid honey.
What do Vegans Eat?
Vegans eat plants. Although a vegan diet is frequently caricatured as being comprised of raw vegetables and salads, in fact it can be more varied, palatable and satisfying than a non-vegan diet.
Vegans eat much the same as non-vegans, but their meals are 100% plant based. They eat ‘veganised’ versions of bread, breakfast cereal, soup, sandwiches, curry, spaghetti bolognese, lasagne, casserole, chocolate, cake, ice cream etc. Many of the recipes that people are already familiar with are vegan. They include traditional British, Irish, Italian, Indian, Chinese, and Mexican dishes.
If your favourite food is not vegan then it is not food. It was a sentient life. However, with a little creativity you can create the same taste minus the violence. Investigate and experiment with vegan versions of your favourite recipes. Check our Product Guide and Recipes Page and our Vegan Kit for ideas and information on vegan substitutes for meat, eggs, cheese, milk, yoghurt, confectionery, luxury ice creams and chocolates.